Those little insecurities

May 13, 2008 at 9:44 pm 7 comments

Went to the YMCA for kickboxing and swimming again today. I wore my favorite swimsuit- this one-piece I got in March. I think it’s pretty nifty, although it does show off the fact that I really don’t have many curves. I know they’ll come in time, but being an impatient, bratty teenager, I’m kind of wishing I had them now. I guess you could say I’m just a late bloomer.

I guess you could say my lack of womanliness would be my self-concious area. It’s been like that since sometime when I was twelve, when my friends stopped looking like little kids and more like teenagers. Okay, so I’m not COMPLETELY flat- I have a little bit of shape. But not that much. And you know what else? I haven’t hit my period quite yet, which is also embarrassing.

You know how people say that they’re completely comfortable in their skin? That bugs me. I don’t think ANYBODY is completely comfortable with their appearance. Even the most confident person most likely has one tiny insecurity, although he or she may not admit it. However, I don’t think we should let these little insecurities control our lives. We should live with them the best we can, even though they may bug us (and they will).

I’ve met people who are constantly ranting and raving about their looks. They hate their hair, or they hate their eyes, or they hate their nose, and it’s all they ever talk about! I’m not saying that they have to learn their nose or hair or eyes or whatever may be bugging them, because that’s a very hard thing to do. You can’t really expect that out of the average person. But you should put up with them the best you can and try and make due with them. That certain little thing about you shouldn’t be the only thing you see when you look in the mirror. Try to focus on the good stuff instead of the bad.

Like I said, you can’t really become truly comfortable in your own skin. Nobody is. Everybody has those little insecurities. Everybody. But, like I said, don’t let them run your life, and focus on the positives. So how about you? Any stories you want to share?  What are your insecurities? I love hearing from you all. 🙂

Entry filed under: teen stuff. Tags: , , , , , , .

Summertime, church, and theater! How NOT to treat your grandparents!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Helena  |  May 13, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    hey there!
    You sound a lot like me lol. I sound stalkerish but w/e you do. Check out my blog…:D:D
    I love urs btw…:D
    Helena
    helenawritesback.wordpress.com

  • 2. sillyteengirl  |  May 13, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Hi Helena! Thanks a bunch fo the compliments! You don’t sound stalkerish in the least, so don’t worry about it. 🙂 Great blog, by the way! You and I do seem to have a lot in common. 😀 Thanks for stopping by!

  • 3. gentledove  |  May 14, 2008 at 3:56 am

    I enjoy your posts very much GT, you just stay as sweet as you are, you are on track, you remind me ALOT of Ann Frank, who if you never read her diary you should.

  • 4. sillyteengirl  |  May 14, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Aw, thank you so much, gentledove! You comparing me to Anne Frank is a REALLY big compliment. I have read pages from her diary- she’s an amazing woman, and you saying that I remind you of her is really neat.

  • 5. Kickboxing Gloves  |  May 18, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    First time here. Just drinking my midnight coffee and chillin out at your blog. I disagree with the statement that no one is %100 comfortable with their appearance. The older you get the less it matters. At least according to my understanding.

    Remember when you were in school how obsessive most people were about looking good and attractive all the time? Well, look at those people when they hit about 30….they kind of let themselves go a bit. Not everyone but lots do. The older you get the more concerned I think we become with being comfortable.

    Look at old ladies. They wrap that plastic stuff around their heads when it’s windy. You know what I’m talking about right?

    Plus, once you get married and stay married for a while then you can really be comfortable. Like I always say, “There ain’t no point in running once you catch the bus”

  • 6. sopranogrl22  |  May 20, 2008 at 8:35 am

    I would tend to agree with you, Kickboxing. I think I’ve seen people who are very secure with their appearances, but I’d like to think that nobody is — since I sure am ill-confident about mine! When I was your age, Teen Girl, I thought by the time I reached 20 I’d be really confident with my appearance. Ha! Apparently that wasn’t the case! I think all we can strive for is accepting ourselves the way we are, and confidence will come in time.

  • 7. sillyteengirl  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Ah, true for both of you. Maybe I should’ve said that TEENS aren’t confident with their appearance. This isn’t true for everybody, but as you get older, most of the time you learn to love what God’s given you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About STG

Thirteen years old. Musical theater actress. Bookworm. Animal lover. Writer. More here.

Blog Stats

  • 6,939 hits
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Who’s among us?

site statistics

Contact STG

If you have any questions, comments, or anything else you may not want to express through a comment on the blog, feel free to shoot me an e-mail at sillyteengirl@gmail.com. :)

