Well, it’s been a while!

May 8, 2008 at 8:41 pm 4 comments

So sorry I haven’t posted in a while! I’ve kind of neglected the blog- whoops! Promise I’ll keep updating it every day or two again. I’ve just been quite busy with school, and my show. Only about fifteen days left until the performance.

Anyways, thanks a bunch for your kind words on my hamster! I’m proud to say he’s a lot better. I think moving him out of his old cage was stressful, so I put him back in the old Habitrail Ovo and he’s fine now. He’s still drinking a lot (and soaking his cage), but otherwise he doesn’t appear to be very ill.

In other hamster-related news, I got another little companion! He’s a black Syrian, and I named him Max. He’s very cute, and enjoys falling asleep in my hand. And licking my fingernails. Maybe nail polish tastes good to him…?

Anyways, I’ve got a story I want to share with you guys. I’ve been meaning to post it for a while now, but like I said, I’ve been busy and I kept forgetting! I was at rehearsal last week when two of my good friends, Jayna and Andrew, had a quite serious talk about religion. Andrew is a devoted Christian, but Jayna is an atheist. She finds the whole religious thing a bit hard to understand, so she and Andrew got into a big discussion about it. At first Jayna was just asking simple questions about God and Jesus and the Bible, and Andrew answered them, but after a while Andrew went into full-fledged lecture mode. When it was time to go back in and rehearse our scenes, Jayna started to cry. She told me she felt like she was being judged and prosecuted for something, and she felt really awful.

I think that would be a good example of somebody shoving their religion down another’s throat when they don’t really want you to. I think preaching about God is a really wonderful thing, but when you do so, choose your words wisely, or else you may come off too strong, like Andrew did to Jayna. Anybody else have a story like this? Any opinions? I love hearing from you guys. 🙂

Entry filed under: Christianty. Tags: , , , , .

Hamster Emergency Summertime, church, and theater!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sari  |  May 9, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    I have a friend who does that to me (ashlee) because I don’t go to church, and for that reason, she says I don’t beleive in God, which I do.

  • 2. Caitlin  |  May 10, 2008 at 8:19 am

    I’m an atheist but i find religion a wonderful thing its just i haven’t be brought up with it and i have very strong views on certain things. However a very good friend of mine is Christian and a very good one (friend A) and she loves talking about it but another close friend (friend B) who i get on well with but who doesn’t really like friend A really finds it annoying that she talks about it a lot.

    It’s a different situation with me and my friends because Friend A is the only christian all my other friends are also atheist.

    Home schooled! wow, i have no idea what that would be like. The only reason i have finished school is because of exams which are very very important to my future. (i am meant to be revising at the moment!!)

    your blog is super, i love reading it. Keep it up!

  • 3. sillyteengirl  |  May 10, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    When I was young, almost all of my friends were Christians, but now that I’m older half of my friends are Christian and half are other religions (and some don’t have religions at all). I encounter the same problem- the non-religious friends get very annoyed with the religious ones talk about Christianity. Although the Andrew/Jayna thing was the first time tears were invovlved.

    As for home-schooling, it’s very neat. I don’t do all of my subjects at home, though- I take a lot of classes. But it’s really nice because you can work at your own pace. A common myth about home-schooling is that kids who are home-schooled aren’t social. If you take classes and get involved with home-schooling activities and extracurricular classes, then that isn’t a problem at all.

  • 4. Caitlin  |  May 11, 2008 at 3:44 am

    thats wicked, i’m glad you ave a good social life :):)

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About STG

Thirteen years old. Musical theater actress. Bookworm. Animal lover. Writer. More here.

Blog Stats

  • 6,939 hits
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Who’s among us?

site statistics

Contact STG

If you have any questions, comments, or anything else you may not want to express through a comment on the blog, feel free to shoot me an e-mail at sillyteengirl@gmail.com. :)

