Hamster Emergency

April 18, 2008 at 4:20 pm 6 comments

Well, I haven’t posted in a while. Why? I’ve been sick. SPRING IS EVIL, I TELL YOU! I came down with a sinus infection, and the fact that pollen’s everywhere these days didn’t really ease my suffering. However, I’m a lot better now, for the most part.
Anyways, today I woke up to find something rather odd. My Campbell’s dwarf hamster, Binky, was shaking like crazy and could barely walk. We did some research, called the vet, and observed him more, and we’ve concluded he’s got diabetes. He does drink and urinate a lot, and shaking is a symptom, and his breed of hamster is commonly effected. I was crying my eyes out- he was in awful shape. He’s doing better now, though. He’s walking around, not shaking as much, and is getting back to his normal self. But we’re not out of the woods yet.
I’m really attached to the little guy, if you haven’t noticed (I’m a huge hamster fanatic). So please send your thoughts and prayers his way- I hate seeing him suffer. Thanks a bunch, everyone. Binky’s my baby, and I’d hate to lose him.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Teens and their mothers Well, it’s been a while!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caitlin  |  April 21, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Binky get better. you have too 🙂

  • 2. Kim  |  April 23, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Awww, poor guy. I hope he gets better. 😦

  • 3. Sari  |  April 24, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Awww poor little guy! He’ll get better, don’t worry!

  • 4. buenotc  |  May 3, 2008 at 2:35 am

    i hope he gets well!!

  • 5. Stel  |  May 5, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Oh my gosh! I really hope he gets better! 😮 He probably will, though. Unfortunately my little hammy Cinnamon passed away two years ago in the spring time, and he was only four months old. I think he choked on something that he had in his cheek pouches.

    I’m saying a little prayer to Binky in hopes he gets better. It’s so awful when a pet is ill and you aren’t sure whether or not they’re going to live. But from what I read here, Binky sounds as if he’s going to be just fine.

  • 6. sillyteengirl  |  May 8, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Thanks, everybody.

    Stel, I’m VERY sorry about your loss. Losing a pet is not easy. Thanks a bunch for your prayers! I’m really happy to say Binky is a lot better now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About STG

Thirteen years old. Musical theater actress. Bookworm. Animal lover. Writer. More here.

Blog Stats

  • 7,172 hits
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Who’s among us?

site statistics

Contact STG

If you have any questions, comments, or anything else you may not want to express through a comment on the blog, feel free to shoot me an e-mail at sillyteengirl@gmail.com. :)

