My religion

April 5, 2008 at 12:55 pm 12 comments

Today I think I’m actually going to type up a Christianity-related post. Ooh, yay! I think you guys have already figured out that I’m a Christian… if not, now you know. However, I’m not the best Christian out there. That’s an area I’m working on. I think I’d be a much, much better Christian if my family had gone to a church conisistantly for the past couple of years. My parents just kind of slacked off on going to one (I think it started with their disagreement on what church we should go to in the first place). As a result, I went through my tween years without a good church home, and that really impacted my faith. I’m trying to regain what I lost, though. We’ve decided to start going to a church again, and I plan on getting very involved with the youth group. One of the things that helped me regain my faith was reading some Christian fiction novels- they’re really neat. I wrote about my two favorite series in a previous post.

A couple of my non-Christian friends are curious about why I’m determined to have and keep such a close relationship with Jesus. I think that answer is obvious- He’s my savior! He died on the cross for ME! His love is unconditional. Jesus cares- He cares so much He gave His life for mankind. And that’s why I’m a Christian. However, I’m not one of those Christians who shoves my religion down everyone’s throat. That’s kind of obnoxious…

Entry filed under: Christianty. Tags: , , , , .

10 Important Things I’ve Learned Family stuff!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Baikong  |  April 5, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    I am a Muslim, so I love my religion and identity. If others would ask me, why I keep loyal with my religion in which many are talking against, feels indifference about it, and provide injustifiable actions against us, call us terrorists, and others – it is because I found answers to my questions, my inner serenity and peace with my religion. 🙂

    I think that’s the most important. and i think you do with your religion, too. 🙂

  • 2. Emily (:  |  April 6, 2008 at 9:07 am

    Hola STG! Love your blog…it’s cute! Uhhhh….I’m not sure what to write xDDDD
    You’re probably like, what a spazz.

  • 3. emilyheartyou  |  April 6, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Got a blog blog blog.
    Its bad, I’m working on it.

  • 4. Caitlin  |  April 8, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Hello, i came across you blog by chance and i have to say it’s very nice, i shall be checking up on this becuase it’s interesting 🙂

    Also i would just like to tell you that you are my blog of the week

    Tar

    Caitlin Kobrak

  • 5. sillyteengirl  |  April 8, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Oh, thank you so much! I really appreciate you linking me. 🙂

  • 6. Sari  |  April 28, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Heyy! You’re right! Shoving religion down people’s throats IS REALLY annoying! For some reason, I don’t go to church, and my friend Ashlee goes, and her family is SO obsessed! She can’t even watch movies with magic in them because her parents think that magic is “work of the devil”, let alone go trick or treating on Halloween! She even had to leave my bday party early because she had to go to church!

    PS-Sorry if you feel this way about church too, but it kinda bugs me when she goes on and on about it!

  • 7. Stel  |  May 5, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    May I make a confession? I’ve kind of lost my Christianity. After reading books I’ve been warned about because of controversy (like The Golden Compass), I’ve almost lost it. Now, don’t get me wrong, I still believe in Jesus, God, Heaven and all that, but I’m not super-religious about it. I don’t know why, but it makes me really nervous when I go to church or talk about religion. (I’m actually shaking as I type this).

    I really need someone to talk to about this. I’ve talked to my mom, but it hasn’t seemed to be working. I’m also not being very good to my religion, only because I’m into magic, spiritualism, and fictional violence. Does this make me bad? I mean, I don’t fear God, but I want to go to Heaven when I die and hope that He will understand all the blunders I’ve made.

  • 8. sillyteengirl  |  May 8, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Hi Stel,
    Sorry that my reply is a bit late! I’m not super-religious myself, either. I may sound like it here, but I’m really not. And let me just tell you this- God certainly understands. He WILL forgive you for your blunders. Nobody’s perfect- we’re all tempted to do the wrong things. It’s human nature, and there’s nothing wrong with you. You’re certainly not bad in the least! We all sin, and there’s nothing wrong with you. Like I said before, if you’ve accepted Jesus as your savior, there’s nothing to worry about- you’re going to Heaven. I can also understand how it must be uncomfortable talking to your mom, and you really don’t have to if you don’t want to. I think spirituality is a very personal thing, and you don’t have to open up about it if you don’t want to. Thanks a bunch, and I hope this helps!
    -STG

  • 9. livethevision  |  May 15, 2008 at 11:23 am

    As a youth pastor, I love reading stuff like this post. I think it’s important for youth to step out and learn for themselves who God is. Not so much as a religious thing, but a relationship thing. I hate religion, to me it’s a bunch of does and don’ts, but a personal relationship with Jesus is another thing all together. Rock on!

  • 10. sillyteengirl  |  May 15, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Thanks a bunch, livethevision! 🙂

  • 11. Stel  |  June 16, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Thanks, Cocoa, I feel a whole lot better now. 🙂

  • 12. prolifeteengirl  |  May 11, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    Hey! Love your blog! Seen some of your posts I love your blog! And Amen Jesus is savior. I admit, I get over excited and pushy at times because of my concern for people’s souls, but I am getting better about not running people off. Have you ever read the Melody Carlson books. Their really good. I particularly like Diary of a Teenage Girl series , True Colors series, and The Carter House Girls series.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About STG

Thirteen years old. Musical theater actress. Bookworm. Animal lover. Writer. More here.

Blog Stats

  • 6,939 hits
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Who’s among us?

site statistics

Contact STG

If you have any questions, comments, or anything else you may not want to express through a comment on the blog, feel free to shoot me an e-mail at sillyteengirl@gmail.com. :)

