The YMCA and… abortion?

April 1, 2008 at 10:07 pm 17 comments

So today I went to a kickboxing class with my best friend, Ariella, at our local YMCA. And man, am I ever tired! You don’t stop moving during that class for the entire hour. No breather. Just kicking. And punching. Even though I’m pretty skinny, I’m not a huge fan of exercising. I know- I’m a wimp!

Now, on to today’s subject- abortion. Over the past couple of days I’ve been thinking about it a lot, and I thought I might as well get around to blogging about it. Being a Christian and all, I guess you can kind of predict where I stand in the whole abortion matter- I am pro-life. I think abortion is murder, I really do. One of my friends is pro-choice, and somehow she and I got to talking about abortion a couple of days ago. She, of course, said the the baby involved isn’t really a baby since it hasn’t been born. But did you know by week 12 that the baby is already very complex and human? My friend also argued that the woman should be able to choose what happens to the baby, since it’s growing in her body. But who are we to choose whether another innocent human being lives or dies? That’s not our job- that’s God’s. Terminating a human life for selfish reasons is just that- selfish. The baby is not just a meaningless blob of tissue- it’s a BABY. I was reading this article earlier today, and it brings up some very good points. But what really popped out at me is the abortion methods they listed. I mean, can you imagine the pain involved for the fetus? Here’s another good article on abortion. If you’re not totally convinced on where you stand in the whole issue, I suggest you read them both.

Anyways, the bottom line is abortion is wrong. It’s inhumane and cruel and it’s MURDER. And that’s that. Now, I think I should be hitting the hay. I think I may pass out anyways (kickboxing really isn’t my thing…).

Entry filed under: Christianty. Tags: , , , , .

Books… 10 Important Things I’ve Learned

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Will Rhodes  |  April 2, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    But who are we to choose whether another human being lives or dies? That’s not our job- that’s God’s.

    What are your thoughts on the death penalty?

  • 2. sillyteengirl  |  April 2, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Maybe I should rephrase that- who are we to choose whether another INNOCENT human being lives or dies? The baby involed in an abortion didn’t do ANYTHING.

  • 3. Will Rhodes  |  April 2, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    OK – so tell me what you think about all the innocent people who have been put to death?

  • 4. snoo124py  |  April 3, 2008 at 3:15 am

    ill awnser that-its OBVIOSLY stupid because its pure evil considering history! About abortion its mediumly wrong.

  • 5. dustyvinci  |  April 3, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Also, people think that if they kill the baby before it’s born, then the baby doesn’t feel it because they don’t think it’s alive until it’s born. WRONG! The baby is LIVING inside the mother and if people kill the baby, the baby feels it.

  • 6. sillyteengirl  |  April 3, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Exactly, Dusty.

  • 7. Maggie  |  April 7, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    ok personally i think your over obsessed. what would you do if your 14 and you get pregnant? a baby would ruin your whole life and future plans for yourself. personally i think abortion is ok. and well it’s none of our business. it’s between the mother and her family. so GET OVER YOURSELF! i think your a republican. and thats just ugh

  • 8. dustyvinci  |  April 7, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Maggie, you’re all wrong. I don’t want to fight, but you are. Even though you don’t know it 😦

  • 9. sillyteengirl  |  April 8, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Maggie, I know that having a baby would mess up your life. But you should’ve considered the consequences when you took part in making a baby. You have a choice in these matters- nobody forced you to become pregnant.
    As for me being obsessed, I’m really not. I hardly ever talk about abortion. This is actually one of the only times I’ve REALLY said how I feel about it.

  • 10. emilyheartyou  |  April 9, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    Maggie-
    If you’re fourteen and you get pregnant, its not like its anyone else’s fault but yours. I am not going to get into the details.

    Anyway, I read the article. I was like, whoa.

  • 11. Maggie  |  April 11, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    you guys have really good points. i’m sorry if i made an ass out of myself. i guess i just have REALLY strong opinions. let’s just agree to disagree? I guess we all just have different opinions on the matter. plus it’s kinda a hard thing to discuss without getting into a disagreement, well it is for me anyway. I’m very hard headed.

  • 12. Maggie  |  April 11, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    I have a question. What are your opinions on gay marriages?

  • 13. sillyteengirl  |  April 11, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    I’m not exactly for gay marriage, BUT I have NOTHING against gays. Being in theater, I do know a lot of gay people, and I don’t treat them any different, or feel any differently about them. I am in no way prejudiced against gays.

  • 14. Maggie  |  April 12, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    ok cool i was just wondering. i feel the same way.

  • 15. mysterycreature1  |  June 5, 2008 at 10:20 am

    I have to say I agree with Maggie.

    Regardless of whether you are for or against abortion, it seems to me that the only person who has any right to have an opinion on it are those who are going through the horrific trauma of having to destroy something that is part of themselves. It is useful to remember that every situation is different – that some women will have a baby from rape, whom they know may never be loved because it will remind them of that horrific event. Some people can get past that. Others cannot. That sometimes it may look like abortion is a casual choice, but that it rarely is. I’m not actually making this comment to argue or judge. I shall let you know that I am pro-choice, as I would like to make the decision on my own grounds, about my own body, if the time came. If a condom broke, or something happened, I would like the option. And yes, making that kind of choice might screw me up for life. However, even if my stance on the matter were different and I believed (personally) that it was murder, I like to think that I would say the same.

    Anyway, this accidentally turned into an essay. Sorry. I just thought it was useful to remind people with opinion that sometimes you don’t know how you feel until you are in that situation yourself – and for that point alone, full judgement must be reserved.

    Hope this makes sense and is kinda interesting! xx

  • 16. Skye  |  November 19, 2008 at 12:44 am

    Hm… Well, like sillyteengirl said, it was the mother’s own choice to have a baby or not. If they didn’t want the child, they shouldn’t have gone through getting the child. Simple as that.

    So… so yeah, abortion is still wrong, one way or another. Of course women have their own rights. But what if I were to say this: The guards in our castle want to slaughter a guard from the other castle. The king has one choice: either to let the man die or save him. But should it be the king’s choice? Let’s say this other guard who waits his death has surrended because he no longer wants to be among the dreaded other king. The king of our castle has the man’s innocent life in his hands. He could drop it and let it break, or hold it and give it another chance to fulfill it’s purpose. This king wants let it fall. He wants the man to die. So, this man, the king has decided whether the soldier lives or not. He decided not. He’s taking the good man’s life away. But what if the king were just like anyone else? God Made Men Equal….. But we know that God Himself is the most powerful and so God should say whether that man should live or die. But no, the king went with his own selfish ways and killed him.

    Bottom line, women can say they have a right over what happens concerning their body, but that doesn’t mean that they really DO have that right. We’re like sheep, and God is our shepherd. We could eat each other alive because we’re so dang dumb. We need God to make choices for us if it’s going to end well. So, sorry that was so long. I’m very.. what’s the word… I can’t remember but I feel strongly about things like this and I like to get my word out.

    Another bottom line just in case the above was confusing (and I’ll just come out and say this)… Abortion is wrong. Muder is wrong. Women like to act indapendent like they have a choice but it’s wrong. And they are not in total control of what happens.

    Thanks

  • 17. mysterycreature1  |  November 19, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Just to come back to a very old comment and yet again dredge this issue up, I would like to question whether you are saying people who don’t want to have a baby shouldn’t have sex? To me, sex (in OR out of marriage) is a brilliant expression of emotion, physical feelings, and is also just very nice.

    To re-make a point I made earlier, accidents happen. That is all I am saying. Those taking the most sensible precautions can still get pregnant. As can, again, victims of rape who never asked to have sex and who protested against the act of “making a baby”.

    Views simply can’t be that shallow, because they have to take in exceptions.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About STG

Thirteen years old. Musical theater actress. Bookworm. Animal lover. Writer. More here.

Blog Stats

  • 7,172 hits
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Who’s among us?

site statistics

Contact STG

If you have any questions, comments, or anything else you may not want to express through a comment on the blog, feel free to shoot me an e-mail at sillyteengirl@gmail.com. :)

